India General Election Results – 2024

Source: Election Commission of India

With all of India’s 640 million votes counted after the country’s six-week election, the world’s – and history’s – biggest democratic election has ended.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) is poised to secure a third term, winning 293 Lok Sabha seats. The BJP, with 240 seats (63 seats less than the 2019 election), fell short of the 272-majority mark in the House of 543. Meanwhile, the INDIA bloc, bolstered by impressive performances from the Samajwadi Party in Uttar Pradesh and the Trinamool Congress in West Bengal, has secured 234 seats. The Congress has increased its tally to 99 seats (37 seats more than in the 2019 elections).

Narendra Modi-led BJP’s share fell slightly from 37.3% in 2019 to 36.6% in 2024, while Rahul Gandhi’s Indian National Congress’ share rose slightly from 19.5% last time to 21.2%,

Over 50 world leaders have congratulated Narendra Modi as he is set to take oath this week for a third straight term as Prime Minister of India following the victory of the National Democratic Alliance in the Lok Sabha polls.

Greek PM Kyriakos Mitsotakis posted a message on X congratulating Modi saying, “India and Greece will continue to work together as strategic partners for global stability and cooperation”.