Greece and India in Tokyo 2020 Olympics

The XXXII Olympiad branded as Tokyo 2020 was held from 23 July to 8 August 2021 in Tokyo, Japan, with some preliminary events that began on 21 July. Originally scheduled to take place in the summer of 2020, the Games were postponed for one year, due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

World’s top athletes from 205 national Olympic committee teams and the IOC Refugee Olympic Team gathered in Tokyo seeking a distinction in 339 events of 33 different sports, encompassing a total of 50 disciplines.

Greek athletes have competed in every Summer Olympic Games of the modern era and as the progenitor nation of the Olympic Games and in keeping with tradition, Greece entered first at the Stadium during the parade of nations at the opening ceremony.

The Hellenic Olympic Committee participated in Tokyo 2020 Olympics with 83 athletes in 17 sports and ranked 36th after winning 4 medals (2 gold, 1 silver and 1 bronze).

GoldStefanos NtouskosRowingMen’s single sculls
GoldMiltiadis TentoglouAthleticsMen’s long jump
SilverGreece men’s national water polo team
Stylianos Argyropoulos
Georgios Dervisis
Ioannis Fountoulis
Konstantinos Galanidis
Konstantinos Genidounias
Konstantinos Gkiouvetsis
Marios Kapotsis
Christodoulos Kolomvos
Konstantinos Mourikis
Alexandros Papanastasiou
Dimitrios Skoumpakis
Angelos Vlachopoulos
Emmanouil Zerdevas
Water poloMen’s tournament
BronzeEleftherios PetrouniasGymnasticsMen’s rings

India has appeared in all Olympic Games since 1920, although it made its official debut at the 1900 Olympics in Paris. The nation sent its largest-ever team of 124 athletes to compete in 18 sports.

Javelin thrower Neeraj Chopra won a gold medal with a stunning throw of 87.58m to become India’s second ever individual Olympic gold medalist after shooter Abhinav Bindra. This is also India’s best-ever Olympic haul with seven medals — one gold, two silvers, and four bronze medals.

GoldNeeraj ChopraAthleticsMen’s javelin throw
Silver Saikhom Mirabai ChanuWeightliftingWomen’s 49 kg
SilverRavi Kumar DahiyaWrestlingMen’s freestyle 57 kg
BronzeP. V. SindhuBadmintonWomen’s singles
Bronze Lovlina BorgohainBoxingWomen’s welterweight
Bronze India men’s national field hockey team
Dilpreet Singh
Rupinder Pal Singh
Surender Kumar
Manpreet Singh (C)
Hardik Singh
Gurjant Singh
Simranjeet Singh
Mandeep Singh
Harmanpreet Singh
Lalit Upadhyay
P. R. Sreejesh
Nilakanta Sharma
Shamsher Singh
Varun Kumar
Birendra Lakra
Amit Rohidas
Vivek Prasad
Field hockeyMen’s tournament
Bronze Bajrang PuniaWrestlingMen’s freestyle 65 kg